Around the Island Race results

Thu, 09/12/2019 - 5:00pm

The following was submitted by the Block Island Yacht Club:

The Block Island Yacht Club held the Sixth annual Around the Island Pursuit Race on Sunday, Sept. 1. A Pursuit Race is different to a typical yacht race because each yacht’s handicap is applied, at the beginning, with the smallest yachts getting a head start, so that all the yachts, if well sailed, would finish the 17 mile, around the Island race course, at the same time. This Regatta was also sanctioned by the Eastern Connecticut Sailing Association who, for the first time, designated it a “points” regatta on their Offshore Racing Circuit.

The race conditions featured Easterly winds from 8-12 knots which was unusual this year because it meant that the racecourse, which starts and finishes just outside of the entrance of the Great Salt Pond, was sailed clockwise around the Island for the first time in this event’s history.  

The winning yacht in the Cruising Class, who also had the best corrected time overall, was Raven Lunatic, a Block Island Community Sailing Raven 24 skippered by Ted Merritt and crewed by Kim Granbury, Ray Torrey and Bob Krusewski. Second Place went to Nimble, an Alerion 26 skippered by Chuck Townsend of Block Island, and third place went to Whisper, a Watch Hill 15 skippered by Michael Rock of Brooklyn, N.Y.

The winning yacht in the Spinnaker Class was Sunshine Daydream, a Jeanneau Sunshine 36 skippered by Brian McLaughlin of Haddam, Conn. Second place went to Screwball, an Aerodyne 38 skippered by Kevin and Amy Carse, from Clinton, Conn., and third place went to Rush, a Tripp 26 skippered by Henry duPont from Block Island.

Honorable mention goes Chloe Weber, Hailey Walter, and Cally Weber, three teenagers who sailed their BI Club Colgate 26, T for T, in their first circumnavigation of Block Island, under sail!

After the race, there was a well-attended awards party hosted by the BI Yacht Club and the Beachhead Restaurant where Principal Race Officer James Gallacher and Race Chairman Henry duPont and presented the trophies to the winners in each class.

Special thanks to Bill Penn who provided the Race Committee start/finish boat and assisted with the on-the-water regatta management along with Neil Rattan, and Becky Pappas and the Beachhead Restaurant who provided a terrific venue, as well as great food and drink for the after-race awards party. The BIYC would also like to thank Block Island Community Sailing who helped promote the regatta, provided race management, and organized the after-race awards party for this event. We also note that BICS had all eight of their Directors participating, seven sailing on racing yachts and one serving as the Race Committee Principal Race Officer.