Incumbents win handily

Thu, 11/08/2018 - 7:45pm

Incumbents on the national, state, and local levels won handily on Block Island after the votes were tallied at Town Hall at 8:05 p.m. on election night.

First Warden Ken Lacoste won with 440 votes, while his challenger Mark Emmanuelle received 261 votes. (These tallies now include all absentee ballots.) Second Warden André Boudreau was unopposed and received 643 votes. The three at-large candidates: Martha Ball (518), Sven Risom (525), and Chris Willi  (434) staved off challenges by Paul Filippi (200 votes) and Leslie Slate (199 votes).

Tom Durden, unopposed for Town Sergeant, picked up 621 votes, while the three candidates for three seats on the Land Trust were each elected: Harold “Turtle” Hatfield (625 votes), Keith Lang (633 votes), and Barbara MacMullan (606 votes). John Spier, unopposed, was returned to his seat on the Housing Board by receiving 469 votes.

Write-in candidates Persephone Brown (272 votes) and Kara Stinnett (147 votes) won the two open seats on the School Committee.

Write-in candidate Molly O’Neill won enough votes to become Town Moderator, as did write-in candidate Pat Doyle for Assistant Moderator. 

Incumbents State Sen. V. Susan Sosnowski, an unopposed Democrat, received, 643 votes, while state Rep. Blake Filippi, a Republican and also unopposed, received 530 votes.

U.S. Sen. Sheldon Whitehouse (573 votes) and U.S. Rep. James Langevin (601) easily won.

State elections saw incumbent Gov. Gina Raimondo garnering 540 votes, while her main opponent, Cranston Mayor Allan Fung, received 136 votes.