Voters elect five-member Utility Board

684 ballots cast
Tue, 10/24/2017 - 5:15pm

A new five-member Board of Utility Commissioners was elected at about 5 p.m. on Tuesday, Oct. 24 by the Block Island Power Company’s account holders to govern and set policy for a newly formed Utility District. The Commissioners who were elected, in order of vote count are: Barbara MacMullan (476), William Penn (380), Everett Shorey (370), Jack Savoie (361) and Mary Jane Balser (341). The other candidates who ran in the race were: Sean McGarry (288), Christine Grele (281) and Pete McNerney (272). 

There were a total of 684 ballots cast in the election out of a total of 1,643 ballots that were mailed out to account holders. In response to the election, Block Island Power Company President Jeffery Wright said the election was a “historic” moment for Block Island. “This doesn’t happen every day.” Wright said the next step is to form the Block Island Utility District.  

Learn more in this week’s edition of The Block Island Times.