Write-in candidates for moderator

Thu, 11/01/2018 - 7:15pm

The Town Moderator and Assistant Town Moderator positions are described in Section 302 under Article III of the New Shoreham describes the positions in this way: 

“The electors of the Town shall elect, biennially, at the general election, a Town Moderator and an Assistant Town Moderator, each to serve for a two year term or until his or her successor is elected and qualified.  The Town Moderator, or in his or her absence, the Assistant Town Moderator, shall preside at all financial town meetings, regular or special, which shall be called.”

This year there is one candidate running as a write-in for each position. Molly O’Neill for Town Moderator and Pat Doyle for Asst. Town Moderator.

When writing in the name, the registered voter must legibly write in the candidate’s name and fill in the oval next to it. If both actions are not taken the vote will not be counted.